UNITED WATERWAYS, the leading white-label passenger ship operator, is appointing Sascha Gill as CEO

2. April 2024 | 14:26

Press Release
Basel / Switzerland, April 2, 2024

The UNITED WATERWAYS Group, headquartered in Basel, Switzerland, is strengthening its top management and bringing Sascha Gill (48) on board. Robert Straubhaar (63), founder and main shareholder of the Group, will concentrate on the chairmanship and the strategic direction of the Group.

Operating more than 120 ships and servicing and owning significant maritime infrastructure in Europe, UNITED WATERWAYS has become a leading support and service provider for some of the world’s most prestigious cruise and event brands on all waters. Robert Straubhaar hands over the operational management of the Group with over 4,000 employees to the new CEO Sascha Gill in order to concentrate even more on the Group strategy as President.

Sascha has deep roots in the brand, hotel, and cruise segments, with his latest educational and strategic focus dedicated to the greening of the maritime industry. Sascha Gill’s previous role at Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA), the Global Cruise Industry Association, was heavily focused on engagement with the European Commission’s technical working groups on maritime decarbonization and NGOs, working on marine protection and biodiversity conservation. Prior to that, he held senior nautical and hotel operation positions with three of the leading ocean and river cruise operators, and he worked for some of the world’s ultra-luxury hotel brands. His educational background includes a Ph.D. in Strategic Business Management and a Masters in International Negotiations and Environmental Policy Development.

“I am fully dedicated to ensuring that Cruise Vacations continues to grow as one of the preferred and managed eco-friendly vacation options,” says Gill. “This company has a highly professional and competent team that has helped build global brands. I am confident that we can once more lead the way in white label operations and further develop the expertise to meet the industry’s goals for maritime decarbonization.”

Robert Straubhaar is delighted with the appointment of the new CEO: “The demands on passenger shipping are changing rapidly and the industry needs to adapt its focus and, in particular, pool its expertise. I consider it a stroke of luck for the passenger shipping industry and for UNITED WATERWAYS that Sascha Gill has accepted this challenge!”


Robert Straubhaar, President
UNITED WATERWAYS


New on board: Sascha Gill, CEO
UNITED WATERWAYS


UNITED WATERWAYS combines all areas of white-label ship management on the Ocean and Inland Waterways. The company’s portfolio includesthe administration, consultancy, operation, financial and insurance management of docking and port locations, as well as ship operations such as crew management, nautica- technical and hospitalityl operation, charter facilitation and shipbuilding.

While the majority of the business is focused on supporting some of the world’s leading cruise and event operators, UNITED WATERWAYS also includes the following brands: River Advice, Ocean Advice, KD Köln-Düsseldorfer, WEIßE FLOTTE SACHSEN, Oceandiva and Thames Luxury Charters.

Media Contact:
UNITED WATERWAYS
Daniel Buchmüller / Corporate Communications

UNITED WATERWAYS, der führende «White-Label»-Passagierschiffsoperator, ernennt Sascha Gill zum CEO

2. April 2024 | 14:26

Medienmitteilung
Basel, Schweiz, 2. April 2024

Der UNITED WATERWAYS-Konzern mit Hauptsitz in Basel verstärkt sein Top Management und holt Sascha Gill (48) an Bord. Robert Straubhaar (63), Gründer und Hauptaktionär der Firmengruppe, wird sich fortan auf das Präsidium und die strategische Konzernausrichtung konzentrieren.

UNITED WATERWAYS betreibt über 120 Schiffe und hat sich zu einem führenden Anbieter von Dienstleistungen für einige der weltweit renommiertesten Kreuzfahrt- und Eventschiffsbrands entwickelt. Robert Straubhaar übergibt die operative Führung des Konzerns mit über 4000 Mitarbeitenden an den neuen CEO Sascha Gill, um sich als Präsident noch stärker auf die Konzernstrategie fokussieren zu können.

Gill ist tief in der Marken-, Hotel- und Kreuzfahrtbranche verwurzelt, wobei sein jüngster Fokus auf der Ökologisierung der maritimen Branche liegt. In seiner vorherigen Position bei der Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA), dem Weltverband der Kreuzfahrtindustrie, konzentrierte sich Sascha Gill stark auf die Zusammenarbeit mit technischen Arbeitsgruppen der Europäischen Kommission zur Dekarbonisierung der Schifffahrt und mit Nichtregierungsorganisationen, die sich für den Schutz der Meere und den Erhalt der Artenvielfalt einsetzen. Zuvor hatte er leitende Positionen in der Schifffahrt und im Hotelbetrieb bei drei der führenden Hochsee- und Flusskreuzfahrtveranstaltern inne und arbeitete für einige der weltweit führenden Luxushotelmarken. Er hat einen Doktortitel in strategischer Unternehmensführung und einen Master in International Negotiations and Environmental Policy Development.

«Ich werde mich voll und ganz dafür einsetzen, dass die Passagierschifffahrt als eine der bevorzugten und umweltfreundlich gemanagten Urlaubsoptionen weiterwächst», sagt Gill. «Dieses Unternehmen verfügt über ein hochprofessionelles und kompetentes Team, das zum Aufbau globaler Marken beigetragen hat. Ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir unsere Expertise als White-Label-Kompetenzzentrum weiter ausbauen werden, um die Branchenziele zur Dekarbonisierung der Schifffahrt zu realisieren.»

Robert Straubhaar zeigt sich hoch erfreut über die Ernennung des neuen CEO: «Die Anforderungen an die Passagierschifffahrt verändern sich mit hoher Geschwindigkeit, die Branche muss Schwerpunkte anpassen und insbesondere Kompetenzen bündeln. Ich erachte es als Glücksfall für die Kreuzfahrtindustrie und für UNITED WATERWAYS, dass Sascha Gill diese Herausforderung angenommen hat.»


Robert Straubhaar, President
UNITED WATERWAYS


Neu an Bord: Sascha Gill, CEO
UNITED WATERWAYS


UNITED WATERWAYS vereint sämtliche Bereiche des «White Label» Schiffsmanagements unter einem Dach. Das breite Spektrum der angebotenen Services umfasst die die Verwaltung, die Beratung, den Betrieb, das Finanz- und Versicherungsmanagement von Anlegestellen und Häfen sowie den Schiffsbetrieb, unter anderem Reederei- und Crewmanagement, Nautik, Technik, Hospitality & Catering, Ausbildung, Chartervermittlung und Schiffbau.

Zur Firmengruppe gehören sowohl die «White-Label»- Schiffsmanagementeinheiten River Advice und Ocean Advice, als auch renommierte Marken in der Event- und Tagesausflugsschifffahrt. Dazu zählen die KD Köln-Düsseldorfer, WEIßE FLOTTE SACHSEN, Oceandiva und Thames Luxury Charters.

Medienkontakt:
UNITED WATERWAYS
Daniel Buchmüller | Corporate Communications